Research
Defensible space: the landscaping rules fire codes impose
A jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction table of plant, mulch, fence and irrigation rules — including the 5-foot ember-resistant zone, and a current reading of California’s contested Zone 0 regulation.
Written by HyreYard Research Desk Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
The finding
Frequently changing regulation
Published: 5 September 2026. Last verified: 5 September 2026. Primary sources: Pub. Resources Code § 4291; Gov. Code § 51182; 14 CCR § 1299.03; Board of Forestry emergency package 2026-0828-03E; 2025 Colorado Wildfire Resiliency Code; OAR 837-040-0030; RCW 19.27.560. Next review: 5 December 2026, or sooner if the Office of Administrative Law publishes the Zone 0 package, CAL FIRE changes inspection forms, Utah’s 2024 IWUIC takes effect, or Washington’s DNR hazard maps are finalised.
Update trigger: an OAL decision on file 2026-0828-03E; Secretary of State filing; a State Fire Marshal appropriation finding under PRC § 4291(h); local CWRC compliance reports; a new IWUIC edition adopted by a state in this table.
A date on this page is a retrieval date. It is not a claim that the underlying rule is stable. Zone 0 has been delayed, redrafted and litigated in public for six years. Read the status column before acting on a row.
What this page is not
Not legal advice, and not a substitute for the local fire authority. Defensible-space duties sit at four different levels — state statute, state administrative code, municipal fire code, and insurance guideline — and the stricter of the applicable ones usually governs. A row in this table is what we read on the retrieval date. Confirm the parcel.
Not a firefighting page, and not a DIY clearing manual. Nothing here is an instruction to cut vegetation near power lines, on a steep slope with a chainsaw, or during a red-flag day. Utility-pole clearance is a utility’s job (see Los Angeles County Fire Code § 325.1.1). Tree work that could contact a line is not a weekend project.
HyreYard does not landscape, inspect yards or pull permits. The seven-state contractor roster on this site is a directory, not an inspection log, and it is not a count of homes we have walked. HyreRoof owns the roof and the claim for it. HyreRestore owns the insured interior loss. This page owns the landscaping clearance rule.
WUI is not coverage. 44,100,000 houses sat in the conterminous-US wildland-urban interface in 2020 — 32% of US housing on 9.4% of the land (Radeloff et al., Science 2023). That is a geographic fact. It is not the number of households subject to a defensible-space ordinance, and we do not publish it as one.
The zones are not the same object in every state
“Defensible space” is a landscaping rule imposed by fire codes. It is the buffer a jurisdiction requires between a structure and the plants, mulch, fences and stored fuel that could carry fire to it. The popular diagram — Zone 0 at 0–5 feet, Zone 1 at 5–30, Zone 2 at 30–100 — is a communications template. It is not a statute.
California’s current administrative code still uses two zones: Zone 1 from the structure to 30 feet, Zone 2 from 30 to 100, both capped at the property line (14 CCR § 1299.03). The 5-foot ember-resistant band is a third zone the Legislature added in 2020 (AB 3074) and has spent six years trying to specify. The International Wildland-Urban Interface Code, which Utah, Nevada’s fire marshal, Oregon’s model code, Austin and Boulder all draw from, does not use “Zone 0” at all. IWUIC Table 603.2 sets a single fuel-modification distance by hazard class — Moderate 30 ft; High 50 ft; Extreme 100 ft — and then regulates trees, groundcover, firewood and LP-gas inside that distance.
HyreYard analysis: collapsing those systems into one 0 / 5 / 30 / 100 diagram makes a national page easy to write and wrong to use. The information a homeowner can act on is which instrument applies to the parcel, whether it covers existing yards or only new permits, and what it says about the first five feet — because that is where embers land, and that is where the plant, mulch and fence rules actually change.
Zone 0 is the information gain, and California’s is not in force
Zone 0, also called the ember-resistant zone or the immediate ignition zone, is the band immediately against the structure. IBHS laboratory burns and post-fire investigations have made the same point for a decade: most structure loss in wind-driven wildfires starts with embers, not a flame front, and the first five feet is where embers collect against siding, under decks and at the base of a wood fence. That is a research finding. It is not, by itself, a landscaping ordinance.
Source fact — California statute. Public Resources Code § 4291(a)(1)(A), as amended by Stats. 2025, ch. 731 (AB 1455, effective 13 October 2025), requires 100 feet of defensible space in the State Responsibility Area, “with more intense fuel reductions being utilized between 5 and 30 feet around the structure, and an ember-resistant zone being required within 5 feet of the structure, based on regulations promulgated by the board.” Government Code § 51182 says the same thing for occupied dwellings in locally designated Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones. A structure for Zone 0 purposes includes an attached deck (PRC § 4291(i); Gov. Code § 51182(e)).
Source fact — California regulation, 5 September 2026. The Board of Forestry and Fire Protection voted on 19 August 2026 to adopt emergency regulations adding 14 CCR §§ 1298.01–1298.04 (Local Responsibility Area VHFHSZ) and amending §§ 1299.01–1299.03 (State Responsibility Area). The package was filed with the Office of Administrative Law on 28 August 2026 as file 2026-0828-03E, subject “Zone 0 Defensible Space.” The five-day comment period closed on 2 September 2026. As of 5 September 2026 we found no OAL approval published and no Secretary of State filing. 14 CCR § 1299.03, the regulation CAL FIRE actually inspects against, still defines two zones.
Source fact — statutory delay, even after OAL. PRC § 4291(g)(1) says the ember-resistant-zone requirement “shall not take effect for new structures until the board updates the regulations… and the guidance document.” Subsection (g)(2) says it takes effect for existing structures three years after the new-structure date. Subsection (h) says the department shall not change inspection practices or forms until the State Fire Marshal posts a written finding that the Legislature has appropriated enough money to do so. A Board vote is not the end of that chain.
HyreYard analysis: anyone currently selling “California Zone 0 compliance” as a statewide legal duty is selling ahead of the CCR. Anyone saying Zone 0 “isn’t real” is ignoring a statute that has required the Board to write it since 2020, a unanimous Board vote in August 2026, and a stack of local ordinances that did not wait. The accurate sentence is the long one: the duty is in the code books as a regulation-dependent requirement; the regulation was adopted by the Board and is sitting with OAL; the current inspectable standard is still Zone 1 and Zone 2.
11 fire-country states, read at the statute
| Jurisdiction | Statewide status | Zone 0 / 0–5 ft | Citation | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California (statewide) | In force | Statute yes; CCR no | PRC § 4291; Gov. Code § 51182; 14 CCR § 1299.03 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Oregon (statewide) | Model, local opt-in | In the model code | ORS 476.392 as amended by SB 83 (2025); OAR 837-040-0030 (OSFM 2-2026, effective 29 Apr 2026) | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Washington (statewide) | No statewide statute found | None found | RCW 19.27.560 (ESB 6120, 2024); chapter 51-55 WAC (sections reserved) | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Colorado (statewide) | New construction | New work only | SB 23-166; C.R.S. §§ 24-33.5-1236 to 1237; 8 CCR 1507-39; 2025 Colorado Wildfire Resiliency Code (effective 1 July 2025) | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Utah (statewide) | In force | Local only | Utah Code § 15A-2-103; 2006 Utah Wildland Urban Interface Code (in force until 1 Jan 2027); H.B. 41 (2026) adopts the 2024 IWUIC effective 1 Jan 2027; H.B. 215 (2026) landscaping preemption in designated WUI | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Nevada (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | Nevada SFM Wildland-Urban Interface Code 2018 (IWUIC 2018 as published by the State Fire Marshal); no statewide homeowner landscaping-clearance statute found as of 5 Sep 2026 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Arizona (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | No statewide defensible-space statute found as of 5 Sep 2026. UA Cooperative Extension (az1290, az1416, Firewise Landscapes) and Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management publish guidance. Cities, counties and fire districts adopt IWUIC or local "survivable space" ordinances (e.g. Pinetop-Lakeside Town Code § 17.96.070). | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| New Mexico (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | No statewide defensible-space statute found as of 5 Sep 2026. 2025 SB 33 directed a task force to develop standards for building codes and defensible space, including a noncombustible five-foot zone; that is a study mandate, not an enforceable clearance rule. EMNRD Forestry Division and NMSU Extension publish Firewise guidance. Some counties (e.g. Bernalillo) have adopted a local WUIC. | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Texas (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | No statewide defensible-space statute found as of 5 Sep 2026. Texas A&M Forest Service and the State Office of Risk Management publish 0–5 / 5–30 / 30–100 guidance. Municipal WUI codes (Austin) are the enforceable layer. | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Idaho (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | No statewide defensible-space statute found as of 5 Sep 2026. Idaho Department of Lands Fire Management Handbook Policy 821, Attachment 2 (revised Jan 2026) is an evaluation form, not an ordinance. Cities (e.g. Boise WUI-O) and counties adopt local overlays. | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Montana (statewide) | No statewide statute found | Guidance only | No statewide defensible-space statute found as of 5 Sep 2026. MCA § 33-24-101 lets insurers discount policies for a 5-ft nonflammable border and for IWUIC compliance; that is an insurance statute, not a clearance duty. DNRC Living With Fire / Home Ignition Zone guides are recommendations. Some counties (e.g. Anaconda-Deer Lodge) write defensible space into zoning and subdivision regulations. | Source | 5 September 2026 |
Statewide defensible-space instruments in eleven fire-country states, retrieved 5 September 2026. “No statewide statute found” means we looked and did not find a PRC-4291-style duty on existing homeowners. It is not a finding that the state has no wildfire problem, and it is not a finding that cities in that state have no ordinance.
Oregon’s ORS 476.392 is still on the books in a form that talks about a statewide wildfire hazard map. Senate Bill 83 (signed 24 July 2025) repealed the map mandate and converted the Fire Marshal’s job to publishing a model code. OAR 837-040-0030, filed 29 April 2026, is the current implementing rule. We score Oregon as model / local opt-in, not as a statewide existing-home duty.
Six regimes, not one 100-foot rule
HyreYard grouped the eleven states by the legal instrument, not by climate. The groupings are ours. The citations are the states’.
A. Statewide existing-home clearance statute
California. A named duty on the person who owns, leases, controls, operates or maintains the structure. 100 ft, two (soon three) zones, inspections, liens. Zone 0 is in the statute and not yet in the CCR.
B. Statewide new-construction WUI code, including 0–5 ft
Colorado. A minimum code for new buildings and significant additions in the mapped WUI. Existing yards are not retrofitted by the CWRC itself. Locals may go further.
C. Statewide WUI construction code, locally enforced
Utah. The state adopts an IWUIC edition; cities and counties must adopt and enforce it or risk wildfire-suppression cost-share. 2006 code until 1 Jan 2027, then 2024 IWUIC. Zone 0 is a local add-on today.
D. State model code, local opt-in
Oregon. The 2021 statewide mandate was repealed in 2025. OSFM publishes a 2026 model with a 5-ft noncombustible band. Nothing happens on a given street until the city or county adopts it.
E. Statewide structure hardening; vegetation reserved
Washington. RCW 19.27.560 is a roof-and-wall code triggered by maps that were not final as of the retrieval date. Chapter 6 defensible space is not in the statewide adoption. Locals may add it.
F. No statewide defensible-space statute found
Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Idaho, Montana. Extension programmes and fire-marshal publications describe 0–5 / 5–30 / 30–100 zones. The enforceable rule, if any, is a city, county or fire-district ordinance. Several of those ordinances are stricter than anything the state has written.
What may be planted, mulched or fenced against the structure
The first five feet is where the landscaping rule stops being “thin the brush” and starts being “change the materials.” Where a Zone 0 or Ember Ignition Zone is actually in force, the pattern is consistent even though the section numbers are not: hardscape or bare mineral soil; no wood mulch; no firewood; no juniper against the siding; the first run of fence, if the code mentions it, in a noncombustible material.
City of Boulder, Colorado — in force on new work. Boulder Revised Code chapter 10-8.5, section 603.2.4, requires a five-foot noncombustible zone around new buildings, decks and additions: no vegetation and no combustible material. Section 603.2.6 bans planting any Juniperus species on or after 1 August 2025, citywide, and requires juniper removal as a condition of new-development permits. The Landscape Manual’s WUI mulch table is more specific than most fire codes: squeegee gravel is allowed in the noncombustible zone; aged arbor-chip mulch is not; cedar bark and “gorilla hair” mulches are prohibited in all WUI ignition-risk areas. New fences and walls within 8 feet must be noncombustible.
City of Austin, Texas — in force on WUI parcels. Austin’s 2024 IWUIC § 603.2.1, in effect for applications on or after 10 July 2025, is the cleanest municipal Zone 0 specification in this table. Five feet from the roof overhang, gravel or pavers, no plants, no combustible furniture, no artificial turf. Protected and Heritage trees on existing buildings are excepted — the Ember Ignition Zone is not a tree-removal permit. Proximity Zone C may use perennial, green, closely mowed lawn instead of hardscape. Ignition-resistant fence is required within 10 feet in Zones A and B and within 5 feet in Zone C.
Town of Truckee / Truckee Fire Protection District, California — in force as an inspection criterion. Truckee Fire publishes Zone 0 as 5 feet horizontally and vertically from any structure, with no combustible bark or mulch, and requires the inspection for real-estate transfers, short-term rentals and building-permit finals. The Town Development Code already prohibits landscaping, including combustible mulch, within five feet vertically and horizontally of any building. The numbered district ordinance on the website is still 02-2012; the Zone 0 criteria are what inspectors are scoring in 2026. Ask the District which text governs a given inspection.
Colorado (statewide) — in force on new construction. The 2025 Colorado Wildfire Resiliency Code, 8 CCR 1507-39, Structure Ignition Zone 1: noncombustible hard surface, tree crowns at least 10 feet from the structure, ignition-resistant plants only. Fencing within 8 feet: noncombustible or ignition-resistant. It is not a retrofit of existing Front Range yards. Locals (Boulder County IRC § R390.4.12.1 is a 5-foot gravel-and-weed-barrier perimeter on a building permit) can and do apply a 0–5 foot rule at permit.
Oregon (statewide) — in the model, not on the street until adopted. The 2026 Oregon Defensible Space Model Code § 301.2 is a five-foot noncombustible band that names bark mulch as a prohibited fuel. OAR 837-040-0030 lets a local government elect to adopt it. Until that election, OSFM’s homeowner guidance is education.
California (statewide) — in the statute, not in the CCR. Until OAL publishes the Board package and the guidance-document gate in PRC § 4291(g) is met, the inspectable plant and mulch rules are Zone 1 and Zone 2 in 14 CCR § 1299.03: dead fuel out of the first 30 feet, firewood covered or moved, 4-inch grass and 3-inch litter in Zone 2. Local overlays (Los Angeles County’s named flammable ornamentals, the City of Los Angeles’s 200-foot brush standard, Truckee’s 5-foot mulch ban) are already stricter than the state CCR.
Zone 0 plant, mulch and fence rules, where we could cite them
| Jurisdiction | Plants against the structure | Mulch | Fence | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California (statewide) | Single well-pruned specimens that do not transmit fire are exempt from the 100-ft fuel-modification duty. | Not specified as a statewide ban in the current CCR. | Not specified as a statewide ban in the current CCR. | 5 September 2026 |
| Oregon (statewide) | OSFM homeowner guidance (not the model code itself): no junipers in the 0–5 ft band; space crowns 10 ft; prune 6 ft from the ground. | Model code § 301. | OSFM guidance recommends metal gates for fence sections within 5 ft of the house. | 5 September 2026 |
| Colorado (statewide) | Zone 1: ignition-resistant plants only, from the CSFS/CSU list. | Zone 1: noncombustible hard surface (rock, gravel, sand, concrete, bare earth, stone/concrete pavers). | Class 1 and 2: noncombustible or ignition-resistant material within 8 ft of the structure. | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Boulder, Colorado | No species of Juniperus may be planted on or after 1 Aug 2025, citywide. | Landscape Manual Table 2-1 (WUI): in the noncombustible zone and defensible space, squeegee (≤ ½ in gravel, no fines) is allowed; aged arbor-chip mulch is prohibited in the noncombustible zone; cedar bark / "gorilla hair" organic mulches are prohibited in all WUI areas; living short native grasses are prohibited in the noncombustible zone. | New fences and walls within 8 ft of any building or structure: noncombustible materials (§ 503. | 5 September 2026 |
| Town of Truckee / Truckee Fire Protection District, California | Fire-resistant landscaping may remain in Zone 0 only if maintained so it is not likely to be ignited by embers and spread fire to the structure (draft 2025 ordinance language the District has been using in inspections). | No combustible bark or mulch around the structure. | District education materials treat the first 5 ft of combustible fence/gate as a home-to-home ignition pathway and a rebate-eligible upgrade. | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Austin, Texas | New trees should be sited so the mature canopy is outside the EIZ. | Combustible mulch is not an EIZ surface. | Ignition-resistant fences required within 10 ft of structures in Zones A and B and within 5 ft in Zone C. | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Los Angeles | Does not apply to healthy fruit trees, privacy hedges or ornamental shrubbery that is free of dead and dry material. | Chipped material depth caps as above. | 10 ft of clearance from combustible fence or roadway used for vehicular travel. | 5 September 2026 |
The first five feet, in the jurisdictions that have written a plant, mulch or fence rule we could cite. Rows are excerpts; the full text is in the sources. California’s statewide row describes the current CCR, not the Board package sitting with OAL.
6 municipal overlays that change the advice
| Jurisdiction | Zone 0 / 0–5 ft | Citation | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles County (unincorporated) | Statute yes; CCR no | Los Angeles County Fire Code (Title 32) § 325.2.1; § 4907 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Los Angeles | Local only | LAMC § 57.4906.5.2 (Los Angeles Fire Code) | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Boulder, Colorado | In force (0–5 ft) | Boulder Revised Code ch. 10-8.5 (Wildland Code), adopting the 2024 IWUIC with local amendments including §§ 603.2.4–603.2.6; Landscape Manual Table A-1 and Table 2-1 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Boulder County (unincorporated) | In force (0–5 ft) | Boulder County Building Code Amendments, IRC § R390 (effective 1 July 2026); Building Publication B-37 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| Town of Truckee / Truckee Fire Protection District, California | In force (0–5 ft) | Truckee Fire Protection District Defensible Space Ordinance 02-2012; Town of Truckee Development Code § 18.40 (landscape standards, as amended); TFPD Zone 0 inspection criteria as published 2026 | Source | 5 September 2026 |
| City of Austin, Texas | In force (0–5 ft) | Austin City Code ch. 25-12 art. 8, 2024 International Wildland-Urban Interface Code with local amendments; § 603.2.1 Ember Ignition Zone. Council adopted 10 Apr 2025 (ord. 20240410-041); applications on or after 10 July 2025. | Source | 5 September 2026 |
Municipal and fire-district instruments retrieved 5 September 2026. These are not a sample of American cities. They are the overlays we could cite by section in the fire-country states this page concentrates on, chosen because each one is stricter than, or differently shaped from, the state row above it.
City of Los Angeles inspects 200 feet of brush clearance in the VHFHSZ, including onto neighbouring lots. Los Angeles County (unincorporated) can push extra-hazard parcels to 200 feet but the default remains 100. That is a real difference inside one metro, and it is why a state row is not enough.
44,100,000 WUI houses is not 44,100,000 covered households
The contract for this page asked us to join the rules table to the SILVIS Lab wildland-urban interface dataset so the covered household count would be a number rather than an impression. We retrieved the number. We are not going to misuse it.
Source fact. Radeloff, Mockrin, Helmers and colleagues mapped the conterminous-US WUI from Census housing and National Land Cover Data for 1990–2020, using the Federal Register definition (66 Fed. Reg. 751). As of 2020, 9.4% of CONUS land area was WUI, and that land held more than 44,100,000 homes — 32% of US housing. Housing in the WUI grew 46% from 1990 to 2020; area grew 31%. The 2010s added 2,600,000 WUI houses. California held 5,100,000 WUI houses in 2020 and added 244,000 in the 2010s; Texas held 3,200,000 and added 534,000 (Radeloff et al., Science 382:702–707, 2023; USFS Research Data Archive RDS-2015-0012-4).
HyreYard analysis — why we do not join. WUI is a geographic class: houses at densities that meet or intermingle with wildland vegetation. PRC 4291 is a legal class: buildings in the State Responsibility Area. Government Code 51182 is a different legal class: occupied dwellings in a locally designated VHFHSZ. Oregon no longer has a statewide map. Washington’s maps were not final on the retrieval date. Colorado’s code applies to new construction in a Board-mapped WUI. Texas’s 3.2 million WUI houses are not 3.2 million houses under a clearance ordinance — Texas has no statewide one. Publishing “44,100,000 households covered” would be a category error with a large, citable-looking denominator. The honest sentence is: tens of millions of American houses sit where vegetation meets development, and only a minority of states have written a statewide landscaping duty that follows.
WUI housing, 2020 vintage
These figures describe where houses sit, not which fire code applies. Retrieved 5 September 2026 from https://research.fs.usda.gov/treesearch/67041.
What a homeowner can actually do with this table
- Identify the instrument, not the diagram
Ask the local fire authority which text applies to the parcel: PRC 4291, a municipal fire code, a WUI overlay, an HOA rule, an insurer’s guideline, or none of them. The 0–5–30–100 diagram is a teaching aid. It is not a citation.
- Treat the first five feet as a materials problem
Where Zone 0 is in force — Austin, Boulder new work, Truckee inspections, Colorado new construction — wood mulch, firewood and an attached wood fence are the items the code is aimed at. Replacing bark with gravel is landscaping work. It is also, in those jurisdictions, code work.
- Do not wait for California’s CCR to do the 30- and 100-foot work
Zone 1 and Zone 2 in 14 CCR § 1299.03 are in force today in the SRA: dead fuel out of the first 30 feet, 4-inch grass and 3-inch litter to 100 feet, 10 feet from the chimney, firewood covered or moved. Zone 0 is the delayed piece, not the whole statute.
- Check the HOA before the plants go in, and after
Utah H.B. 215 (2026) now stops a municipality or HOA from prohibiting vegetation removal required for IWUIC defensible space. That is one state. In California, Government Code § 51182(f) lets a local agency adopt alternative practices with similar practical effect, and also lets it go stricter. An HOA that requires a continuous juniper hedge against the siding is writing a rule that several fire codes in this table would fail. Related: HOA landscaping preemption.
- Irrigation is not clearance
A watered lawn in the 5–30 foot band is a common Zone 1 technique. It is not a Zone 0 compliance path in Austin Zones A and B, Boulder’s noncombustible zone, or the CWRC. Drought-killed plants are fuel. Watering restrictions are a different legal object — watering-restriction tracker.
- Stop at the power line
Los Angeles County Fire Code § 325.1.1 is a utility-pole firebreak rule aimed at the line owner. It is not a homeowner instruction. Tree work that could contact a conductor is not a defensible-space weekend project. Related: tree-removal permit rules and the tree-removal cost tool.
- A licence is a floor on who may do the work, not a finding that the work is required
Defensible-space compliance is high-value landscape work in fire country because it is specified, inspected and recurring. It is still the fire authority’s rule, not a contractor’s. Related: landscaping licensing by state.
Method and limitations
- Sources
Primary instruments only: state statutes, administrative codes, enrolled bills, municipal fire and building codes, and the agency page that publishes the current inspection criteria. Extension publications are cited as guidance and labelled as such. Retrieval date on every row: 5 September 2026.
- Inclusion
Eleven fire-country states named in the page contract (CA, OR, WA, CO, UT, NV, AZ, NM, TX, ID, MT) plus six municipal overlays we could cite by section. Florida and North Carolina, which sit in HyreYard’s contractor roster, were not part of this pass.
- “No statewide statute found” is a search result
It means we did not find a PRC-4291-style duty on existing private yards in that state’s code as of the retrieval date. It is not a claim that no such bill has ever been introduced, and it is not a claim that no city in the state has an ordinance. The municipal table exists because the second of those is often true.
- Zone 0 status is a legal-status field, not a recommendation
in_force, adopted_not_effective, model_opt_in, new_construction, guidance, none_found. A guidance row is not a secretly-in-force row. California’s Zone 0 is the test of that discipline.
- No SILVIS household-coverage join
We retrieved Radeloff et al. 2023 and the USFS Research Data Archive WUI product. We did not assign a “covered household” count to any row, because WUI geography and fire-code geography are different layers. That is a deviation from the topic contract, and it is the honest one.
- Board of Forestry Zone 0 text
We describe the Board vote, the OAL file number and the statutory delay gates from instruments we retrieved. We do not reproduce the August 2026 draft as if it were 14 CCR. When OAL publishes, this page should be updated in place.
- Snapshots age
A fire code retrieved on a date was current on that date. California Zone 0, Colorado local CWRC adoptions, Utah’s 1 January 2027 IWUIC switch and Washington’s DNR maps are all in motion. Anyone relying on a row for a permit or an inspection should re-read the instrument.
Questions
What are defensible space requirements?
Is California Zone 0 in effect?
What is Zone 0 landscaping?
Can I use bark mulch next to the house?
Do fire codes restrict wood fences?
Does living in the WUI mean I have to clear 100 feet?
Is this legal advice?
Written and audited by
HyreYard Research
Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
We are a research desk, not a landscaping company. We read the statute, the municipal code, the water-district rule or the federal soil file ourselves, and we publish the figure with the document it came from and the date we retrieved it. Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. This programme is new. The counts below are what we can already stand behind — a seven-state roster and a rule that we will not make a national claim from it.
- 10
- studies published
- 50
- states in the licensing and HOA tables
- 7
- states the contractor roster is titled to
- 0
- national claims drawn from our own store
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. A rule comes from the statute, ordinance, board or agency that issued it, cited by section, with the URL and the retrieval date. We do not cite a blog that cites a code.
- Coverage is a number, not a vibe. A table titled to fifty states has fifty sourced rows. A table of cities is titled to the cities we actually read. Gaps are published as gaps.
- Store-based facts stay inside the seven states. Texas, Arizona, Washington, California, Oregon, Florida and North Carolina. Texas is the largest roster on the weakest evidence — a self-reported NAICS sales-tax permit — because Texas licenses no landscaper. National claims rest on federal or state agency data, never on our counts.
- Fact, calculation, analysis and recommendation stay labelled. "According to…" is a source. "HyreYard analysed… and calculated…" is ours. "This suggests…" is interpretation. We do not present our reading as something the source stated.
- We do not landscape, irrigate, treat pests or pull permits, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favourable mention. Nobody buys a position on this site.
Data as of Statutes and ordinances retrieved 5 September 2026. Authorship on this site is organisational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
The data behind this page
Every figure on this page is computed from one file, and that file is published here so the analysis can be checked, disagreed with, or reused.
Sources & retrieval dates
- California Legislature — Public Resources Code § 4291 , Statewide SRA defensible-space duty; 100 ft; ember-resistant zone within 5 ft based on Board regulations; (g) and (h) delay gates. Amended by Stats. 2025, ch. 731 (AB 1455), effective 13 Oct 2025. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- California Legislature — Government Code § 51182 , Parallel 100-ft and ember-resistant-zone duty for occupied dwellings in locally designated VHFHSZ. Amended by Stats. 2025, ch. 731. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- 14 CCR § 1299.03, as reproduced in the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code App. H , Current inspectable zones: Zone 1 (0–30 ft) and Zone 2 (30–100 ft). Zone 0 is not in this section. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- California Board of Forestry and Fire Protection — Notice of Proposed Emergency Action, Zone 0 Defensible Space , Board adoption 19 Aug 2026; planned OAL submittal on or after 28 Aug 2026; file 2026-0828-03E. Not treated here as an in-force CCR section. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Oregon Secretary of State — OAR 837-040-0030 , Adopts the 2026 Oregon Defensible Space Model Code (IWUIC 2024 §§ 603–604 as amended). Local governments may elect to adopt. OSFM 2-2026, filed 29 Apr 2026, effective 29 Apr 2026. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Oregon State Fire Marshal — Defensible Space , Model-code landing page, homeowner zone explorer, and local-adoption notice. Education programme, not a statewide inspection mandate. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Oregon Legislature — ORS 476.392 , Minimum defensible-space requirements; read against SB 83 (2025), which repealed the statewide map mandate. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Washington Legislature — RCW 19.27.560 , Statewide WUI adoption is selected ignition-resistant construction (roof, walls, appendages) plus driveways, triggered by DNR maps. Locals may adopt the IWUIC in whole. Vegetation management is not in the statewide list. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Washington Administrative Code — Chapter 51-55 , State Building Code adoption of the 2021 IWUIC; vegetation-management sections reserved. Last update noted 17 Mar 2026. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control — Wildfire Resiliency Code Board , SB 23-166 board; 2025 CWRC established 1 July 2025 through 8 CCR 1507-39; local compliance reports due 31 July 2026. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Colorado DFPC — CWRC testing requirements and Structure Ignition Zones , Class 1 / Class 2 hardening; Zone 1 (0–5 ft) noncombustible hard surface and ignition-resistant plants; fencing within 8 ft. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Utah Legislature — H.B. 41 (2026), enrolled , Adopts the 2024 IWUIC in § 15A-2-103, effective 1 Jan 2027; deletes IWUIC § 602; postpones high-risk WUI fee. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Nevada SFM Wildland-Urban Interface Code 2018, Chapter 6 , IWUIC Table 603.2 fuel-modification distances as published by the State Fire Marshal. Locally adopted; not scored here as a PRC-4291-style statewide homeowner statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- University of Nevada Cooperative Extension — Living With Fire Defensible Space Guide , Zone 0 / 1 / 2 guidance for Nevada ecosystems, including cheatgrass. Guidance, not an ordinance. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- University of Arizona Cooperative Extension — Firewise Landscapes , Immediate / Intermediate / Extended zone guidance. Not a statewide statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance — Wildfire Hardening & Defensible Space Checklist , Updated 28 January 2026. Insurance/preparedness checklist, not a clearance statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- New Mexico Legislature — 2025 SB 33 (final) , Task force to develop building-code and defensible-space standards, including a noncombustible five-foot zone. Study mandate, not an adopted clearance rule. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Texas State Office of Risk Management — Wildfire Preparedness , 0–5 / 5–30 / 30–100 guidance, 13 April 2026. Not a statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Idaho Department of Lands — Fire Management Handbook Policy 821, Attachment 2 , Home-protection-zone evaluation form, revised January 2026. 4-ft non-flammable break as an evaluation criterion, not a statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Montana Code Annotated § 33-24-101 , Insurer discounts for fire-preventative measures, including a 5-ft nonflammable landscaping border. Insurance statute, not a clearance duty. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Los Angeles County Fire Code § 325.2.1 and Chapter 49 , 100-ft defensible space; extra-hazard up to 200 ft; ember-resistant zone language tracking the state statute. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Los Angeles Fire Department — Brush Clearance Requirements , LAMC § 57.4906.5.2: 200 ft in the VHFHSZ, including adjoining lots; 3-in grass; 5-ft roof clearance; chip-depth caps. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- City of Boulder — Landscape Manual (WUI mulch table and Wildland Code summary) , Noncombustible 0–5 ft zone; juniper planting ban from 1 Aug 2025; 8-ft noncombustible fence; squeegee vs arbor-chip vs bark. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Boulder County — Building Publication B-37 / IRC § R390 , 5-ft weed-barrier and ¾-in gravel perimeter; CSFS defensible-space standard or Wildfire Partners certificate. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Truckee Fire Protection District — Defensible Space , Published Zone 0 / 1 / 2 inspection criteria; required inspections for real estate, short-term rentals and permit finals; Ordinance 02-2012 still posted as the numbered ordinance. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- City of Austin — 2024 IWUIC Chapter 6, § 603.2.1 Ember Ignition Zone , 5-ft noncombustible EIZ; Zone C lawn exception; Protected/Heritage tree exception; ignition-resistant fence distances. Applications on or after 10 July 2025. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- Radeloff, V.C. et al. 2023 — Rising wildfire risk to houses in the United States, especially in grasslands and shrublands , Science 382:702–707. CONUS WUI housing 44,100,000 (2020); California 5,100,000; Texas 3,200,000. Used as geographic context only. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- USFS Research Data Archive — The 1990–2020 wildland-urban interface of the conterminous United States , RDS-2015-0012-4. SILVIS Lab, UW-Madison, with USFS Northern Research Station. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
- USFS Northern Research Station — Wildland-Urban Interface Growth in the U.S. , Project page restating the 2020 WUI housing and area figures. Retrieved 5 September 2026.
Compliance work is specified landscape work
A 5-foot hardscape band, a 30-foot prune and a 100-foot thin are a scope, not a vibe. If you are hiring for that work, compare companies on the same written specification. HyreYard does not landscape and does not inspect yards.
HyreYard does not perform landscaping, defensible-space inspections or wildfire-mitigation contracting, and has no commercial relationship with any fire authority, board or insurer named on this page. This page is general information about publicly available codes, not legal, insurance or professional advice. If a row is wrong or a regulation has moved, tell us and we will correct it in place with a dated note.