Research
Turf replacement rebates at 18 water agencies
A snapshot of programmes we could verify on the issuing agency’s own page on 5 September 2026 — not every programme in America. Closed windows are in a second table, because a stale row is how someone starts a job the rebate will not pay.
Written by HyreYard Research Desk Primary-source research and fact checking
The finding
Why this is not every programme in America
The planned title for this page was “every programme in America, compared.” That sentence is only true if the table is complete. It is not, and pretending otherwise would be the one error this page exists to avoid.
There is no federal register of turf-replacement rebates. EPA WaterSense labels irrigation products and publishes outdoor-efficiency guidance; it does not write cheques. The payers are water retailers, wholesalers, counties and, in Utah, a district portal standing on legislative funds. Each sets its own rate, cap, plant list, inspection and fiscal-year clock. A complete national table would mean reading every utility conservation page in the country on a rolling basis. We have not done that work.
What we did: we opened the current programme pages of the large western agencies that actually pay for lawn removal — Metropolitan Water District’s SoCal Water$mart and its member add-ons, Bay Area and Santa Clara districts, Southern Nevada, the Utah Water Savers portal, Phoenix-metro cities, Tucson, Albuquerque, Austin, San Antonio, LCRA, Denver Water — plus the Florida water-management districts and El Paso Water, to see whether they pay for turf at all. Each live row has the agency URL and the retrieval date. Each closed or absent row is a finding, not an omission.
HyreYard analysis: the useful object is not a ranked “best rebate.” It is a dated row a homeowner can take to the agency that bills them, before they hire a crew. The turf rebate calculator still asks you to type the rate. This page is the table that calculator refused to ship.
Published / last verified / next review
Published: 2026-09-05. Last verified: 2026-09-05. Next review: 2026-12-05, or sooner if a named agency’s fiscal year turns or a programme page we cite changes its rate, cap or status.
Update trigger: a Notice-to-Proceed freeze, a mid-year rate change, a new fiscal-year budget, or a reader correction with a primary-source URL. A new date on this page without a re-read of the agency pages is not a verification.
These programmes are a frequently changing class. SoCal Water$mart, SNWA, ABCWUA, JVWCD and Mesa all run on a 1 July–30 June fiscal year. Denver Water’s HOA/commercial awards are a calendar-year cycle with an autumn application window. Scottsdale’s MHC window runs 8 July 2026 to 30 April 2027. A table compiled in March is not a table in September.
What the rates actually are
The published per-square-foot figures on the live pages run from $0.50 (LCRA’s turf-conversion line, and Denver Water’s HOA/commercial LTAP) to $7.00 (Las Vegas Valley Water District customers stacking $2.00 on SNWA’s $5.00 for the first 10,000 square feet). That range is not a distribution of “typical” American rebates. It is the range on the pages we read.
SNWA is the volume programme in this set. SNWA states that Water Smart Landscapes has upgraded 250,000,000 square feet of lawn since 1999, saving 203,000,000,000 gallons. The residential rate as of 18 September 2025 is $5.00 for the first 10,000 square feet of functional-turf conversion and $2.50 thereafter, per property per fiscal year. Business, HOA and multifamily properties are paid $5.00 for the first 10,000 square feet and $1.50 thereafter, without regard to fiscal year. Those are different schedules. They are not averaged here.
LADWP is the other high residential headline: $5.00 per square foot, 250 to 5,000 square feet, a $25,000 maximum. The page states the arithmetic — LADWP $3.00 plus MWD $2.00. Commercial and public-agency customers are on higher first-band rates ($6.00 and $7.00) that step down to $4.00 after 50,000 and 200,000 square feet respectively, and those cheques cannot exceed eligible project costs. A Los Angeles residential row and a Los Angeles commercial row are not the same rebate.
SoCal Water$mart (MWD) is the base layer under most of Southern California, not the total. Metropolitan pays $2.00 per square foot, up to 5,000 square feet of converted yard per year, with 180 days to finish after the reservation. The page tells you to run “estimate my rebate” because the member agency may add money. IRWD, publishing through the MWDOC portal, currently pays residential customers $2.00 on potable or recycled water — the MWD base, not an extra stack, on the page we read. San Diego County, for unincorporated customers of named member agencies, adds $1.00 and another $1.00 on native-plant portions.
Some live programmes refuse a per-square-foot headline. Austin Water publishes “up to $3,000” for a WaterWise conversion and does not state a current $/sf on the customer-facing rebate page; we did not back-fill $1.00 from a 2023 council resolution. SAWS is inside a fall 2026 coupon window: $150 to $600 off plants at participating nurseries, 200 square feet of grass per $150 coupon, redeem by 1 November 2026. Mesa’s residential track is three lump sums ($1,000 / $1,500 / $2,000) plus a tree bonus, which is $2.00 at the small end of the first band and $1.33 at 1,500 square feet — which is why it is not drawn as a single bar.
Residential or stacked-residential headline rates, among programmes in this snapshot that publish a per-square-foot figure. Thereafter-rates, commercial classes, lump-sum tiers and coupon programmes are omitted from the bars and kept in the table. A bar is not a recommendation.
Live programmes, 2026-09-05
| Agency | $/sf (as published) | Min / max area | Cap | Pre-approval | Inspection | Plants, irrigation, artificial turf | Status | Apply · retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SoCal Water$mart (MWD) CA · Turf Replacement Program | $2.00 / sf (MWD base) | 250–5,000 sf / year (res.); under 250 sf only if the whole property is converted | MWD: 5,000 sf/year residential. Member-agency add-ons vary. | Yes | Possible post-project inspection; commercial/public-agency pre- and post-inspections are mandatory | 3 plants per 100 sf; new eligible trees count as 3 plants. Optional $100/tree, max 5 trees ($500). Stormwater-retention feature required. No synthetic turf. Overhead spray must be converted to drip, micro-spray, bubblers or rotating nozzles, or capped/removed and hand-watered. No overhead spray in the finished project. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| LADWP CA · Turf Replacement Rebate (LADWP + MWD) | $5.00 / sf residential | Residential 250–5,000 sf. Commercial first band to 50,000 sf, then to 7 acres (304,920 sf). Public-agency first band to 200,000 sf, then to 7 acres. | Residential $25,000 (5,000 sf × $5). Commercial first band $300,000; public-agency first band $1,400,000. Amounts above the first band are at $4.00/sf. | Yes | Reviewed after completion; may be inspected. Six months to finish after pre-approval. | California Friendly® plants, including natives. Mulch or groundcover. Rain-capture feature. Converted area must stay in compliance for 5 years. Drip irrigation listed as a programme feature. Apply through SoCal Water$mart. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| IRWD CA · Turf Replacement Program | $2.00 / sf residential (potable or recycled) | Residential 250–5,000 sf (or all turf if the property is under 250 sf). Commercial cap 50,000 sf/FY. Public agency 200,000 sf/FY. | Residential 5,000 sf. Commercial 50,000 sf per fiscal year. Public agency 200,000 sf per fiscal year. | Yes | Pre-inspection to measure turf and confirm presence, then a Notice to Proceed. Post-inspection after work. IRWD says work must be completed within 60 days, with extensions possible. | Water-efficient landscape. Artificial turf is not eligible. IRWD points to Calscape and PlantRight rather than a closed proprietary list. Project area must be a low-flow system (drip or high-efficiency rotating nozzles), or the sprinklers must be capped/removed and the area hand-watered. Remaining lawn must not be sprayed by leftover heads. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Valley Water CA · Landscape Conversion Rebate | $2.00 / sf base | Minimum 75 sf. No published residential square-foot maximum; the dollar cap binds first. | Single-family and 4-or-fewer units: $3,000 default, $6,000 in cost-sharing areas. Commercial and 5+ units: $100,000. Caps cover conversion plus irrigation-upgrade and rainwater components combined. | Yes | Pre-inspection (photos may substitute) before any work; post-inspection after. Projects started before approval are ineligible. | At least 50% of the converted area covered by qualifying low-water-use plants at maturity. Itemised plant list required. Artificial turf is not rebated. Pop-up sprinklers must come out of the converted area. Any remaining irrigation must be low-volume drip, micro-spray or bubbler. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| San Diego County Waterscape CA · Turf Replacement (SoCal Water$mart stack + county-only track) | $3–$4 / sf stacked (unincorporated, SoCal Water$mart-eligible) | Stacked SoCal track: residential to 5,000 sf; commercial/multifamily to 50,000 sf. County-only track: residential lifetime 1,250 sf ($5,000 at $4/sf); commercial 2,500 sf ($10,000). County-only minimum 100 sf. | Stacked track: county publishes $15,000–$20,000 residential and $150,000–$200,000 commercial at $3–$4/sf. County-only lifetime $5,000 / $10,000. | Yes | Follows SoCal Water$mart on the stacked track (Notice to Proceed before work). County staff confirm eligibility on the county-only track. | SoCal Water$mart plant, mulch and stormwater rules on the stacked track. Extra $1/sf for California natives. Artificial turf is not eligible. SoCal Water$mart irrigation conversion on the stacked track. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| EBMUD CA · Lawn conversion rebate | $1.00 / sf standard; $2.00 / sf Super Rebate | No published residential square-foot min/max on the programme page; the dollar cap binds. | $2,000 per 2-year period for single-family and small multifamily. $15,000 per 2-year period for commercial, municipal and large multifamily (5+ units). A one-time commercial cap increase to $20,000 ran through 30 June 2026 and had expired on the retrieval date. | Yes | Notice of approval before any work. EBMUD verifies the finished conversion against the standard or Super Rebate rules. | Low-water, climate-appropriate plants and mulch (3 inches). Super Rebate: majority California natives. Spray-to-drip in a lawn-conversion area is already inside this rebate and is not paid again on the separate irrigation-equipment rebate. Lawn must have been irrigated with potable EBMUD water and actively maintained (mowed) for at least the past three years. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| SNWA NV · Water Smart Landscapes Rebate | $5.00 / sf first 10,000 sf; $2.50 / sf thereafter (residential, per FY) | Minimum 400 sf (smaller projects only if less than 400 sf of lawn exists in the project area). Residential thereafter-rate is per fiscal year; no published residential hard cap on total area. | No published residential dollar cap. The rate steps down after 10,000 sf. Groundwater-management rebates: 2,500 sf per fiscal year. | Yes | Mandatory pre-conversion site visit. Starting without approval makes the conversion ineligible. Post-conversion inspection, then a conservation easement recorded with Clark County before the cheque is issued. 12 months from pre-conversion inspection to finish. | At least 50% living plant cover at maturity using SNWA’s plant list. $100/tree bonus for new qualifying trees, up to 100% canopy coverage. Permeable artificial turf may substitute for mulch; the 50% plant-coverage and drip rules still apply. Drip with a filter, pressure regulator, and emitters rated at 20 gallons per hour or less. Remaining sprinklers must not spray the converted area. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| LVVWD (on SNWA) NV · Additional $2 / sf on Water Smart Landscapes | $7.00 / sf first 10,000 sf; $4.50 / sf thereafter (SNWA $5 + LVVWD $2) | Same 400 sf SNWA minimum. | Same SNWA step-down after 10,000 sf. The extra $2 rides on SNWA’s first-tier and thereafter rates. | Yes | Apply and inspect through SNWA. LVVWD does not run a separate inspection. | SNWA Water Smart Landscapes plant, canopy and easement rules. SNWA drip rules. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Austin Water TX · WaterWise Landscape rebate | Cap published; $/sf not on the current customer page | Not published as a square-foot min/max on the current rebate page. Conversion area must be at least 75% healthy turf grass; dead lawns do not qualify. | Residential up to $3,000. Multifamily and HOA up to $5,000. | Yes | Pre-approval required; work started before approval does not qualify. Austin Water may require a site visit to verify turf health. | Native or adaptive plants; Grow Green Plant Guide is the recommended list, and other natives/adaptives may qualify if listed on the application. More than 50% plant cover at maturity. Planting only in spring and fall windows, not summer. Artificial turf and permeable concrete are not eligible. Convert spray heads to drip if irrigation is kept. Residential gravel path up to 3 ft and patio up to 200 sf allowed; multifamily/HOA applicants may not use gravel or stone in the conversion area. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| SAWS TX · Fall WaterSaver Landscape Coupons | $150–$600 in nursery coupons, not a $/sf cheque | At least 200 sf of grass per $150 coupon. | Up to $600 in coupons for the fall 2026 round. | Yes | Photos of the project area with the coupon application. This is not a SNWA-style two-inspection cash rebate. | Drought-resilient landscape beds. Free plans at GardenStyleSA.com/PlantByNumbers. Automatic sprinkler heads or drip lines in the project area must come out with the grass. A separate Irrigation Design Rebate exists for capping zones. | Seasonal — Fall 2026 window. Coupons distributed starting 15 August 2026; redeem at a participating nursery by 1 November 2026. SAWS news of 1 September 2026 called it the last chance for the fall coupons. | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| LCRA WaterSmart TX · WaterSmart turf conversion rebate | $0.50 / sf | Minimum 200 sf of healthy turf grass. | $2,000 on the turf-conversion line. Broader WaterSmart cap $3,000 per residential property across listed measures. | Yes | Pre-approval inspection to review design, irrigation plans, area and timeline. Online application within 90 days of installation. | Native garden beds or drought-tolerant landscapes. Irrigation evaluations and equipment are a separate WaterSmart line, not automatically bundled. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Tucson Water AZ · Commercial / multifamily ornamental turf removal | No residential turf rebate on the current page | No published square-foot minimum. Only living ornamental turf as defined in Tucson UDC 7.6.4. Dead grass does not qualify. | $30,000 per project, not exceeding pre-tax project cost. | Yes | Site visit to measure eligible square footage before a Notice to Proceed. Final inspection after completion. W-9 required; Tucson says a 1099-MISC is issued at $2,000 or more in a calendar year. | Minimum 50% tree canopy or vegetative groundcover at maturity. Plants from the ADWR Tucson AMA Low Water Use / Drought Tolerant Plant list. No hardscape except ADA-accessible permeable paths. Artificial grass is not rebated. Pressure regulator; convert spray to drip. Drip and bubblers allowed, no spray. Separate shut-off valve on the irrigation line. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Phoenix Water AZ · Grass Removal Incentive | $2.00 / sf | Residential minimum 250 sf; over 5,000 sf case by case, funds permitting. Non-residential minimum 1,000 sf. Grass must be at least 75% live or dormant density; bare soil/weeds under 25%. | No published residential dollar cap. Non-residential has been described by the city as up to $250,000 per site in programme materials; confirm on the current non-residential page before budgeting that figure. | Yes | Notice to Proceed required. Allow up to 3 weeks for review. Six months from NTP to finish. Staff measure from aerial imagery; a video call or site visit may be required. W-9 required. | Desert-adapted landscaping. Bare soil after removal is prohibited. Water features and pools are prohibited in the removal area. Grass cannot be reinstalled while the applicant owns the property. Right-of-way removals must use the ADWR Phoenix AMA low-water-use list. Not specified as a drip mandate on the residential page. Non-residential materials have required drip-automatic irrigation; treat the two tracks as different. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Mesa AZ · Grass-to-Xeriscape (residential tiers + commercial $/sf) | Residential lump sums, not a flat $/sf | Residential minimum 500 sf. Commercial minimum 2,500 sf. Residential grass must be ~70% healthy, routinely irrigated and manicured. | Residential $2,100 with two trees. Commercial $50,000 per property per 12 months. One residential incentive per property in a 3-year period. | Yes | Pre-inspection (aerial plus photos) and a notice to proceed before any work. Six months to finish. Re-inspection after. W-9 required; Mesa will issue a 1099. | At least 50% low-water-use plant canopy at maturity from the ADWR Phoenix AMA list. Grass cannot be replaced with just artificial turf or rock. Artificial turf may be incorporated if the 50% plant-coverage test is still met. Mulch 2 inches, no black plastic. Spray irrigation is not permitted in the converted area. Concrete cannot exceed 25% of the converted area. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Scottsdale Water (MHC) AZ · Multifamily, HOA and commercial grass removal | Residential track closed; MHC $2.00 / sf | Minimum 2,000 sf unless all remaining grass is removed. | $40,000 grass removal plus up to $10,000 streetscape bonus. | Yes | Consultation or pre-inspection before work. Planning & Development Services approval and a Notice to Proceed before funds are reserved. Planning approval by 30 June 2027. | Scottsdale Water MHC application (9/1/2026 v2). Grass already removed is ineligible. Per the MHC application; do not start work before the Notice to Proceed. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| ABCWUA NM · Xeriscape rebate | $3.00 / sf | No minimum. Large projects may be done in phases. Turf must be designated high-water-use on the xeriscape-guide plant list and currently watered with spray irrigation. | Not published as a dollar cap on the current xeriscape page; eligibility is per fiscal year. Payment is a bill credit within 1–2 billing cycles, or up to 90 days. | Yes | Pre-approval inspection before ANY turf removal. Final inspection with itemised zero-balance receipts. | 50% of the approved project area in plant-allowance points from the xeriscape-guide list (rainwater, low and medium water-use plants at mature size). Existing on-list plants in the removal area may count. 3 inches of mulch between plants. Impervious plastic is not permitted. Artificial turf / gravel-only conversions do not qualify. Spray irrigation is not permitted in the rebate area. Existing sprinklers must be converted to drip, bubbler, or hand-watering. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| JVWCD (Utah Water Savers) UT · Landscape Incentive — lawn replacement | $3.00 / sf lawn replacement | Minimum 200 sf, aggregating multiple areas allowed. Lawn must be living, maintained, currently irrigated by overhead spray, and verified on site. Dead or already-removed lawn does not qualify. | No dollar cap published on the JVWCD programme-details page. Treebate $50 per tree, up to ten trees, only with a qualifying lawn-replacement, switch-to-drip or new-construction project. | Yes | Initial site visit required before approval. Final inspection; legal agreement and W-9 before payment. | At least 50% perennial and shrub coverage at maturity at ground level (tree canopy, bulbs and annuals do not count). 3–4 inches of mulch. Artificial turf and impervious hardscape are not incentivised. Front and back yards: hardscape cannot exceed 50% of landscaped area (backyard may go to 75% with written approval). Remaining lawn may not be left narrower than 8 feet. Drip on dedicated zones, not connected to overhead spray. Emitters ≤ 5 gallons per hour. Filter and pressure regulator required. Micro-sprays, bubblers and soaker hoses are not accepted as drip. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
| Denver Water LTAP (HOA / commercial) CO · Landscape Transformation Assistance — HOA/Commercial | HOA/commercial $0.50 / sf (up to 50% of project cost) | No published square-foot minimum. Projects must replace high-water-use turfgrass (Kentucky bluegrass is the named target) with water-wise ColoradoScape. Previously non-irrigated land, weed-dominated areas and irrigation-only projects are ineligible. | No published dollar cap. Funding is limited and may be pro-rated. 50% cost-share required. | Yes | Consultation with Denver Water staff before applying. Design must be approved. Final site inspection before funds are distributed. | At least 50% plant coverage at maturity in each planting area. Artificial turf, landscape fabric/weed barrier and hardscapes will not be funded. Approved native-grass options (buffalograss, blue grama, named mixes) are listed on the page. Irrigation and maintenance plans required. Irrigation upgrades are funded only as part of a landscape transformation, not alone. | Open | Apply / rules 2026-09-05 |
HyreYard compilation of current programme pages, retrieved 2026-09-05. “Open” means the page was accepting applications, or was inside a named seasonal window, on that date. Rates that vary by customer class or by area band are not flattened.
Read the agency page before you dig. A reservation of funds is not a cheque. Living turf at pre-inspection is a common gate: SoCal Water$mart, SNWA, Phoenix, Mesa, JVWCD, Austin and Tucson all disqualify work already started, and most disqualify dead lawn or bare dirt. HyreYard does not process rebates and does not landscape yards.
Not currently accepting — or not a turf rebate
| Agency | Status | Last published rate | What the page says | Source · retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver Water residential CO · 2026 turfgrass-removal discount | Not accepting | Up to $750 off a service (allocated) | Denver Water’s own page: this is not a rebate. It was an upfront discount of up to $750 off Resource Central turfgrass-removal services, minimum 200 sf of water-intensive grass, artificial turf not allowed. “Due to popularity, the turfgrass removal discounts for 2026 have all been allocated… Resource Central no longer accepts new applications.” | Agency page 2026-09-05 |
| Scottsdale Water (residential) AZ · Residential grass removal | Not accepting | Prior cycle: up to $5,000 (not currently offered) | Banner on the residential rebates page, last updated 8 July 2026: “Residential Grass Removal Rebate Closed on Oct. 31, 2025.” The city says grass and pool removal will return when the new rebate season launches, and that it cannot guarantee 2026 requirements, eligibility or amount until then. The same page still lists a Grass Removal application PDF with a 31 October 2026 deadline — that leftover row is not treated as an open programme. | Agency page 2026-09-05 |
| Colorado Springs Utilities CO · Native Grass Lawn Program for Homeowners (2026) | Not accepting | No $/sf residential turf rebate; 2026 native-grass programme full | “Registration for the 2026 program is closed after reaching maximum capacity.” The 2026 residential offering was classes, free high-efficiency nozzles (up to $100) and free native-grass seed (up to $150) — not a per-square-foot turf-removal cheque. A separate commercial native-grass conversion rebate of up to $0.50/sf remains listed for businesses; it is a native-grass conversion, not a cash-for-grass xeriscape rebate, and is not added to the live turf-replacement table. | Agency page 2026-09-05 |
| Tucson Water (prior WIFA round) AZ · Ornamental turf removal — WIFA-funded $5 / sf round | Not accepting | $5.00 / sf — ended 1 March 2026 | City of Tucson news release 12 November 2025: the WIFA-funded ornamental turf removal rebate of $5 per square foot for commercial, multifamily and HOA customers ended 1 March 2026. The current CII programme (live table) is a different, $2.50/sf fiscal-year-2027 round. | Agency page 2026-09-05 |
| El Paso Water TX · Residential rebate list (no turf-replacement line) | Not on the current rebate list | No turf-replacement rebate on the current list | The current residential rebate list names commodes, washing machines, laundry-to-landscape, smart irrigation controllers, rainwater harvesting, pool covers and pool filters. It does not list a turf-replacement or grass-removal rebate. That is a published gap, not a finding that El Paso never had one. | Agency page 2026-09-05 |
Closed, allocated and absent programmes are information, not clutter. A 2025 rate sitting in a search result is how someone budgets a cheque that will not be written.
Salt River Project (SRP). SRP is a power and water wholesaler, not the City of Phoenix water retailer. No SRP turf-replacement rebate was found on a current SRP conservation page. Phoenix Water, not SRP, is the grass-removal payer inside the city. Florida water management districts (SFWMD, SJRWMD, SWFWMD). The five water management districts run cost-share with local governments and utilities, not a homeowner cash-for-grass cheque. SFWMD’s FY27 alternative-water-supply / water-conservation guidelines fund local-government projects (irrigation retrofits among them), not a per-square-foot residential turf rebate. Some Florida cities run Florida-Friendly Landscaping reimbursements; they were not verified for this snapshot and are not listed as live. A California, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona or Texas state overlay cheque. No statewide per-square-foot turf-replacement cheque was found that a homeowner applies for directly. California’s MWD programme is regional. Utah Water Savers is a portal funded in part by the legislature and administered by water districts. Colorado’s CWCB funds utilities; Denver Water is the customer-facing payer. Nevada’s SNWA is regional. Arizona’s WIFA has funded local rounds (Tucson’s closed $5/sf round). Texas has no state turf-replacement cheque on the pages read.
The rules that actually decide whether you get paid
Almost every live cash programme in this snapshot requires pre-approval. SoCal Water$mart, LADWP, IRWD, Valley Water, EBMUD, SNWA, Austin, Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale MHC, ABCWUA, JVWCD, Tucson and Denver LTAP all say some version of: do not remove the lawn until we say so. SNWA is the sharpest statement of the consequence — “Starting without our approval will make your conversion ineligible.” That is the rule that disqualifies more projects than the plant list.
Plant-list and coverage tests are not interchangeable. SoCal Water$mart wants three plants per 100 square feet plus a stormwater feature and no synthetic turf. SNWA wants 50 percent living canopy at maturity and will count permeable artificial turf as mulch, not as the plants. ABCWUA and Mesa want 50 percent coverage from a named low-water list (ABCWUA’s xeriscape guide; Mesa and Phoenix right-of-way work from the ADWR Phoenix AMA list; Tucson CII from the ADWR Tucson AMA list). JVWCD counts perennial and shrub coverage at ground level and explicitly does not count tree canopy toward the 50 percent. Valley Water wants 50 percent low-water plants and will not rebate artificial turf. A design that satisfies Las Vegas can fail Irvine, and the other way around.
Irrigation conversion is usually mandatory and is not the same rebate as the turf cheque. SoCal Water$mart forbids overhead spray in the finished project. SNWA requires drip with a filter, a pressure regulator and emitters at 20 gallons per hour or less. JVWCD requires drip on dedicated zones, emitters at or under 5 gallons per hour, and rejects micro-sprays, bubblers and soaker hoses as “drip.” EBMUD’s separate spray-to-drip rebate is not paid on area that is already in a lawn-conversion rebate. Austin will let you cap the system; it will not rebate a conversion of St. Augustine to Bermuda.
Inspections run from a photo desk to a recorded easement. Valley Water will sometimes take photos instead of a site visit. Phoenix measures from aerial imagery. SNWA comes to the property twice and then records a conservation easement with the Clark County Recorder that runs with the land in perpetuity — no irrigated lawn, spray irrigation, pool or water feature in the converted area, ever, including after a sale. That easement is the largest legal instrument in this set. It is not a footnote.
Artificial turf is a split. SoCal Water$mart, IRWD, Valley Water, Austin, JVWCD, ABCWUA, Denver LTAP and Tucson CII do not rebate it. SNWA will accept permeable artificial turf as a mulch substitute if the 50 percent plant cover is still met. Mesa will let it into the yard but will not pay for a conversion that is only turf-for-turf. Phoenix’s residential page does not use the words “artificial turf”; it does forbid bare soil and water features in the removal area. If the programme page does not say yes, do not budget the cheque.
Two things this page is not
Not the HOA question
Several programme pages — IRWD, SNWA, Mesa, Phoenix — tell the applicant to sort out the homeowners association before they start. Nevada NRS 116, California Civil Code § 4735, and the Colorado xeriscape statutes Denver Water lists on its HOA page are real limits on what a board can forbid. When your HOA cannot stop you removing the lawn is the page that reads those statutes. This page does not.
A rebate approval is not an HOA approval. SNWA will still pay only if the conversion meets SNWA’s canopy and easement rules, whatever the board said.
Not graywater, and not a landscaper
Austin Water’s laundry-to-landscape rebate and El Paso’s laundry-to-landscape rebate are graywater fixtures. HyrePlumber owns graywater. They appear here only as a named exclusion so nobody reads “landscape rebate” as a washing-machine rebate.
HyreYard does not landscape, irrigate, inspect conversions or process rebates. The enquiry form is not a rebate desk. Matching to local companies is still being built. A quote is not an approval.
Are the cheques taxable?
Nothing in this section is tax advice. It is what the primary sources on this page actually say.
Federal law has a clean exclusion for a different kind of utility subsidy. 26 U.S.C. § 136 excludes from gross income a public-utility subsidy for an “energy conservation measure” on a dwelling — defined as an installation or modification primarily designed to reduce consumption of electricity or natural gas, or to improve management of energy demand. Water is not in that definition. Water-conservation rebates are outside that sentence. Agencies in this snapshot that pay $600 or more routinely collect a Form W-9 and say a Form 1099 will follow. SoCal Water$mart states the federal $600 information-return rule on its terms page, and adds that “the state of California does not have this requirement at this time for turf rebates” — a statement about California information returns, not about California income tax.
California does have a personal-income exclusion, and it is dated. California Revenue and Taxation Code § 17138.2 excludes from California personal-income gross income any rebate, voucher or other financial incentive issued by a public water system, local government or state agency for participation in a turf replacement water conservation programme, for taxable years beginning on or after 1 January 2022 and before 1 January 2027. The section repeals 1 December 2027. The Franchise Tax Board’s 2025 Publication 1001 restates the same window. Tax years beginning on or after 1 January 2027 are not covered by the section as it stands.
SNWA’s residential terms require the applicant “to accept any tax liability related to payments received,” and SNWA’s public FAQ says rebates may be considered taxable income and to consult a tax adviser. Tucson tells CII applicants a 1099-MISC will be issued at $2,000 or more in a calendar year. Mesa tells residential applicants it will issue a 1099. None of those sentences is a ruling on a particular return.
How to use this table without fooling yourself
- Start from the bill, not the city name
The payer is the water retailer. LADWP is not “Los Angeles County.” LVVWD is not “Nevada.” Unincorporated San Diego County is not the City of San Diego. LCRA is not Austin Water — LCRA’s own page sends City of Austin customers to Austin Water.
- Read the current page, then type the rate into the calculator
The turf rebate calculator multiplies the square feet you type by the $/sf you type, then applies a cap if you type one. It still does not ship a city table. This page is the dated lookup; the calculator is the arithmetic. If the agency page and this row disagree, the agency page wins and you should tell us.
- Do not start work on a pre-approval programme
If the row says pre-approval is required, a crew on site before the Notice to Proceed is how the rebate dies. SNWA, SoCal Water$mart, Phoenix, Mesa, ABCWUA, JVWCD and Austin all say so in those words.
- Measure only the lawn that qualifies
Dead patches, parkways the programme excludes, hardscape you plan to pour, and lawn you are keeping do not count. SoCal Water$mart will not let you increase square footage after the reservation. Phoenix staff measurements from aerial imagery override the applicant’s estimate.
- A stack is two programmes, two rulebooks
LVVWD’s extra $2 rides on SNWA’s easement and 12-month clock. San Diego County’s $1 rides on SoCal Water$mart’s plant, mulch and stormwater rules. LADWP’s $5 is applied for on the SoCal Water$mart site. Failing the base programme fails the stack.
- The rebate is not the invoice
Conversion cost is plants, soil, mulch, irrigation changes and labour. Use the landscaping cost estimator for those lumps. Subtract a rebate only after you know you qualify. SNWA’s own FAQ says the rebate often covers about half of a good-quality conversion; that is SNWA’s statement about its own programme, not a national fraction.
Method and limitations
- Source
Each live and closed row was read on the issuing agency’s (or the administering portal’s) own programme page on 2026-09-05. Secondary round-ups were used only as leads, never as the rate. EPA WaterSense is cited for outdoor-efficiency guidance, not as a rebate.
- Inclusion
A programme is “live” if the current page was accepting applications, or was inside a named seasonal window, on the retrieval date. A county or retailer stack is a separate row when it publishes its own dollars. Utah Water Savers partner districts other than JVWCD share a portal; they are not given their own rows because their local rate was not independently read.
- What “$/sf” means here
The number the current page tells a qualifying applicant they will be paid per square foot of converted, qualifying area, before thereafter-rates and dollar caps. Lump-sum tiers (Mesa residential) and coupons (SAWS) are labelled as such and are not converted into a fake unit rate in the bar chart.
- This is not a complete inventory
Hundreds of water retailers in the West, and thousands in the country, were not read. A missing city is not a finding that it has no programme. Florida city-level Florida-Friendly reimbursements were not verified and are not listed as live. Long Beach, Sacramento, Aurora, Chandler, Gilbert and City of Henderson were not independently tabulated.
- Pages contradict themselves
Tucson’s CII page says it is accepting FY 2027 applications as of July 2026 and still contains a leftover “not accepting for the remainder of FY 2026” sentence. Scottsdale’s residential page says the 2025 grass-removal cycle is closed and still lists a 2026 application PDF. In both cases the banner or dated header is treated as the status, and the contradiction is published.
- Fiscal years turn
A rate verified on 5 September 2026 can be wrong on 1 July 2027. SNWA, MWD, ABCWUA, Mesa and JVWCD all clock a fiscal year at 1 July. Denver LTAP awards by calendar year. The next review date on this page is 5 December 2026, or sooner if a named agency’s page changes.
- HyreYard did not collect these programmes from applicants
We read published rules. We did not sample paid cheques, wait-list lengths or denial rates. Nothing here is a market rate for landscaping, and nothing here is an approval.
Questions
How much is a turf replacement rebate?
Is there a national turf rebate?
Do I have to apply before I remove the lawn?
Does rock or artificial turf count?
Can my HOA stop me?
Is the rebate taxable?
Why is my city missing?
Does HyreYard process rebates?
Written and audited by
HyreYard Research
Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
We are a research desk, not a landscaping company. We read the statute, the municipal code, the water-district rule or the federal soil file ourselves, and we publish the figure with the document it came from and the date we retrieved it. Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. This programme is new. The counts below are what we can already stand behind — a seven-state roster and a rule that we will not make a national claim from it.
- 10
- studies published
- 50
- states in the licensing and HOA tables
- 7
- states the contractor roster is titled to
- 0
- national claims drawn from our own store
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. A rule comes from the statute, ordinance, board or agency that issued it, cited by section, with the URL and the retrieval date. We do not cite a blog that cites a code.
- Coverage is a number, not a vibe. A table titled to fifty states has fifty sourced rows. A table of cities is titled to the cities we actually read. Gaps are published as gaps.
- Store-based facts stay inside the seven states. Texas, Arizona, Washington, California, Oregon, Florida and North Carolina. Texas is the largest roster on the weakest evidence — a self-reported NAICS sales-tax permit — because Texas licenses no landscaper. National claims rest on federal or state agency data, never on our counts.
- Fact, calculation, analysis and recommendation stay labelled. "According to…" is a source. "HyreYard analysed… and calculated…" is ours. "This suggests…" is interpretation. We do not present our reading as something the source stated.
- We do not landscape, irrigate, treat pests or pull permits, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favourable mention. Nobody buys a position on this site.
Data as of Agency programme pages retrieved 2026-09-05. Authorship on this site is organisational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
Sources & retrieval dates
- SoCal Water$mart — Turf Replacement Program , MWD base $2.00/sf, 5,000 sf/year residential, 180-day completion, tree rebate $100 × 5. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- SoCal Water$mart — Turf Replacement Terms & Conditions , Living-turf reservation, 250 sf minimum, 3 plants/100 sf, stormwater feature, no synthetic turf, spray conversion, W-9 at $600, one application per meter per fiscal year. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- LADWP — Turf Replacement Rebate , Residential $5.00/sf (LADWP $3 + MWD $2) to 5,000 sf ($25,000). Commercial $6/$4; public agency $7/$4. Five-year compliance. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Irvine Ranch Water District — Turf Replacement Program , Residential $2.00/sf potable or recycled, 250–5,000 sf. Commercial $3/$2. Apply via MWDOC. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Santa Clara Valley Water — Landscape Conversion Rebate , Base $2.00/sf. Residential cap $3,000 ($6,000 cost-sharing). Commercial cap $100,000. Funding through 30 June 2027 or depletion. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- County of San Diego — Turf Replacement / Waterscape , Unincorporated stack $3–$4/sf on SoCal Water$mart, plus native-plant $1/sf. County-only track $4–$5/sf with lifetime caps. July–August 2026 supplement pause ended 1 September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- East Bay Municipal Utility District — Lawn conversion rebate , Standard $1.00/sf, Super Rebate $2.00/sf. Caps $2,000 / $15,000 per two years. Commercial $20,000 bonus expired 30 June 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Southern Nevada Water Authority — Water Smart Landscapes , Residential $5.00 then $2.50/sf; CII $5.00 then $1.50/sf. 400 sf minimum, 50% canopy, conservation easement. 250,000,000 sf converted since 1999. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- SNWA — Water Smart Landscapes residential programme conditions , Pre-conversion inspection mandatory. 12-month completion. Residential rate as of 18 September 2025. Applicant accepts tax liability. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Las Vegas Valley Water District — Rebates and coupons , Additional $2.00/sf on SNWA for LVVWD residential customers ($7.00 / $4.50 combined). Funded by the excessive-use charge. No stated expiration. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Austin Water — Rebates, Tools & Programs , WaterWise Landscape up to $3,000. Current page does not publish a $/sf. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Austin Water — WaterWise Landscaping Rebate Guide , 75% healthy turf, pre-approval, spring/fall planting windows, >50% plant cover, no artificial turf. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- San Antonio Water System — WaterSaver Coupons are back , Fall 2026: $150–$600 nursery coupons, 200 sf grass per $150 coupon, redeem by 1 November 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Lower Colorado River Authority — WaterSmart residential rebates , Turf conversion $0.50/sf up to $2,000, minimum 200 sf. Page stated active as of 3 September 2026. Austin customers directed to Austin Water. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Tucson Water — Commercial/multifamily turf removal rebate , CII $2.50/sf, $30,000 cap, FY 2027 round. ADWR Tucson AMA plant list. Prior WIFA $5/sf round ended 1 March 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- City of Tucson — Ornamental Turf Removal Rebate Program Ends March 1, 2026 , WIFA-funded $5/sf CII/HOA round closed 1 March 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- City of Phoenix Water Services — Residential Grass Incentives , $2.00/sf, minimum 250 sf, 75% density, NTP required, 6 months to finish, over 5,000 sf case by case. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- City of Mesa — Residential Grass-to-Xeriscape and Tree Bonus , Tiered $1,000 / $1,500 / $2,000 plus $50–$100 tree bonus, minimum 500 sf, 50% ADWR-list canopy. Commercial $2.00/sf to $50,000. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Scottsdale Water — Residential rebates , Residential grass removal closed 31 October 2025. 2026 season not launched as of the 8 July 2026 page update. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Scottsdale Water — Multifamily, HOA and commercial rebates , MHC grass removal $2.00/sf up to $40,000, window 8 July 2026–30 April 2027. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority — Xeriscape rebate , $3.00/sf, 50% plant-allowance points, spray-to-drip, 3-inch mulch, pre-approval inspection, per fiscal year. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Utah Water Savers — Landscape Incentive , Statewide portal; “up to $3/sf.” Built by JVWCD with the Division of Water Resources and partner districts. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- JVWCD Landscape Incentive Program details (Utah Water Savers) , Lawn replacement $3.00/sf, 200 sf minimum, 50% perennial/shrub coverage, drip on dedicated zones, W-9. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Denver Water — Turfgrass Removal (residential) , 2026 Resource Central discounts of up to $750 allocated; new applications closed. Not a $/sf rebate. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Denver Water — HOA/Commercial Landscape Transformation Assistance , $0.50/sf, 50% cost-share, 2027 award-year applications 1 September–1 November 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Colorado Springs Utilities — Native Grass Lawn Program for Homeowners , 2026 residential registration closed at capacity. Not a per-square-foot turf-removal rebate. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- El Paso Water — Rebate Programs , Current residential list has no turf-replacement line. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- 26 U.S.C. § 136 — Energy conservation subsidies provided by public utilities , Federal exclusion is limited to electricity and natural-gas conservation measures on a dwelling. Water is not in the definition. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- California Revenue and Taxation Code § 17138.2 , California personal-income exclusion for turf-replacement rebates, tax years beginning 1 January 2022 through 31 December 2026. Repeals 1 December 2027. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Franchise Tax Board — Publication 1001 (2025) , Restates the § 17138.2 turf-replacement exclusion window. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- EPA WaterSense — Outdoors , Outdoor-efficiency guidance and labelled irrigation products. Not a turf-replacement rebate. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
You have a rate. Now do the arithmetic.
Type the square feet, the $/sf from your water retailer, and the cap. The calculator will not invent a city table. If you want quotes on the conversion itself, the enquiry form is not a rebate desk.
HyreYard does not perform landscaping, irrigation or rebate-processing work and has no commercial relationship with any water agency, district or programme named on this page. This page is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Rebate amounts, eligibility and tax treatment change. If a programme’s position here is out of date or wrong, send the current agency URL and we will correct the row in place and note the retrieval date.